Wanna hear a pizza joke? I can’t tell you because it’s too cheesy! :P

Hello everyone!

Thanks to the influence from Buzzfeed, we decided to try the pizza grilled cheese. While attempting to make the grilled cheese, I couldn’t help but think of the movie Julie and Julia. For those who aren’t familiar with the movie, it’s about the famous chef, Julia Child and Julie Powell, an aspiring author. Julie Powell is determined to cook all of the recipes in Julia Childs’ cookbook, Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Although pizza grilled cheese is nothing compared to Julia Childs’ famous beef bourguignon, it’s the concept of this blog not the context.

Is it just me or do they make it look super easy?

We did this about 3 times until we got it just right. I like the quick 30 second video tutorials Buzzfeed offers because my attention span doesn’t last longer than that, but I wish they were a tad bit more descriptive.

We started off with:

Your favorite type of bread (we used whole wheat)

1/2″ slices of mozzarella cheese

1/2″ slices of pepperoni

any brand of pizza sauce (we used fireroasted classico marinara)

any type of butter (we used country crock)

spray butter (optional)

 

20150917_221246[1]

We preheated the pan for too long. I didn’t really know what to expect when attempting this. I kept forgetting to record and take pictures. Like Aaliyah said, “If you at first you don’t succeed. Dust yourself off and try again.” And that’s exactly what we did.

20150917_221309[1]

 

While the pan was preheating, we gathered all the ingredients and went through each attempt. The first one had too much sauce and was extremely soggy. (yuck) The second one didn’t melt as well since we had the pan on too hot; the bread ended up cooking too fast and burning.  The third attempt was just right.

Snapchat-678720701443502184[1] Snapchat-828093184132396410[1] 20150917_223250[1]Screenshot_2015-09-19-23-32-30-1[1]

 

Like I said, I’m new at this. Silly me forgot a few steps in the video. I skipped the most important part, THE CHEESE

 

As you can see from my video, our attempts weren’t as successful as Buzzfeed. Through trial and error we learned; use less sauce, get thicker slices of cheese and pepperoni and don’t preheat the pan for too long. Also, make sure you have plenty of tums on hand. The next day, my heartburn was out of control!

Make sure to check back next week for our next attempt. If you have any suggestions, holler at me!

❤ Alyssa

 

Leave a Reply

