Grab dinner by the balls

Hello everyone!

For this weeks recipe we attempted the mozzarella stuffed meatballs found on Tasty. Never have I ever made meatballs in my life. The only meatballs I ever made were the frozen ones from Subway. That was my first job ever. I remember the first time I ever had to make them. It was lunch time, and nobody had prepped them the night before. I had to improvise, although they came out a bit watery, I received an “E” for effort.

When it comes to cooking, I don’t know why I am so impatient. When we decided on this, I was dreading it because the meatballs take 2-2.5 hours to  cook. For the longest time, I wanted a crock-pot. Every birthday, Christmas, you name it; I always mentioned it or dropped hints. Last year my wish was finally granted. It made me realize, I don’t like waiting so long for my food to cook. Don’t get me wrong, I love my crock-pot, but I only use it when I know I won’t be home hovering over it while my food is cooking.

After viewing the video from Tasty numerous times, we began.

ingredients

Ingredients: -2 bottles of your choice of spaghetti sauce -1 lb of beef -1 lb mild Italian sausage -Breadcrumbs -2 eggs -garlic powder -low moisture mozzarella -salt -pepper -basil

We started by cutting the cheese into small cubes. After doing so, Buzzfeed directs you to keep the cheese in the fridge while preparing the meatballs.

The meatballs weren’t as complicated to put together as I thought. Once we added all the ingredients together, it was time to get messy!

all together

Once we mixed the ingredients together, it was time to make some balls!

Grab just enough of the mix to get a good size ball, compare to a ping pong ball.

balls

Once you’ve made your balls, you can now add cheese!!

Time to get cheesy

This part was the easiest. You just insert the cheese inside the meat and roll it back to a ball.

After this process it was time to put the in the crock-pot. Before we did this, we lined the crock-pot with a slow cooker liner. This is the best inventions ever. It makes the clean up process super easy. If you are a frequent crock-pot cooker, I definitely recommend you start using these.

Crockpot

Once the crock-pot is good to go, add your sauce then meatballs. You are going to put in a few and then add more sauce. Continue this process until you are out of balls.

Sauce

I recommend not stirring the meatballs right after you put them in. I made this mistake and I damaged 3 meatballs.

Now is the time to be patient…

crockpot

2 hours later

After waiting patiently (not really), it was time to try these bad boys.

fin

We paired the meatballs with spaghetti. You can choose whatever you want or just enjoy them by themselves.

The verdict….

expectations

vs

reality

The meatballs turned out really good. My picture may not be as perfect as Buzzfeed’s but this is one meatball even Mario Batali would be proud of 🙂

Until next time, check out our video and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

